Wildcats take home fall post-season honors

There were many contributors to the final Los Gatos football season for veteran coach Butch Cattolico.

The Wildcats, who tied for second in the rugged Santa Clara Valley Athletic League De Anza Division, ultimately posted an 8-5 record, including a defeat to St. Francis in the Central Coast Section Division II championship game. Along the way, many players spun a season full of memories for Cattolico, who announced his retirement from teaching and coaching after a Hall of Fame-type, 41-year career at Los Gatos High, the last 26 as head coach.

Three players earned special honors from the SCVAL De Anza Division coaches: seniors Nico Aimonetti and Kyle Kevorkian and sophomore Joey Wood.

Aimonetti, who will continue his playing career next fall at San Jose State, was named Outstanding Offensive Lineman, but was a big help on defense, too, with 63 tackles, including six sacks.

Kevorkian, who was named the league’s Outstanding Senior, shone on both sides of the ball and special teams. On offense, Kevorkian was an excellent receiver, catching 38 passes for 737 yards and five touchdowns and running for two more scores on reverses. From his defensive back position, Kevorkian made 50 tackles and intercepted a pass. As a return man on punts and kickoffs, he took one of each the distance.

Altogether, the 6-foot, 180-pounder scored nine touchdowns.

Wood also played both ways, helping the defense with 30

tackles, but the biggest contributions from the powerful 5-foot-10, 212-pounder were from the running back position. He rushed the ball 172 times for 1,015 yards and 13 touchdowns and was named the league’s Outstanding Sophomore.
Ten more Wildcats were honored on the all-SCVAL De Anza first team, six on offense and four on defense.

Junior quarterback Nick Bawden, who completed 99 of 188 pass attempts for 1,636 yards and 12 touchdowns and ran for three more scores, was picked along with senior running backs Will Le (789 yards, nine rushing TDs, three TD catches) and Max Herman (five TDs) and senior tight end Teva Brender, who provided strong blocking along with 15 catches and two touchdowns.

Kevin Tjon and Dave Fishman, who joined Aimonetti as senior leaders on the offensive line, also were tabbed as first teamers.

Defensively, the Wildcats’ top tacklers were honored, with senior inside linebacker Tyler Perkins (114 tackles, three sacks) and senior defensive back Brent McCoy (93 tackles).

Junior outside linebacker Jack Tittle (67 tackles, five sacks) and senior lineman Ricky Turnwall (43, 3) also were selected.